facebook . vimeo Français 1 English
ÉLIAN MATA
[ imagine, create, propagate ]

WELCOME
. PIECES . CALENDAR . PRESS . CONTACT & PRO

TRAJECTORIES
____________________________________________
[creation 2020-2021]





 
In 2018, author, dramaturge, choreographer and visionary Élian Mata created the unforgettable Forêt with a first collective of performers; this year he returns to the MAI with Trajectoires, a performance installation involving eight collaborators. Moving through this rich, moving tableau that deals with the nuance and complexity of being human, the audience encounters these living works of art embodied by the performers: six creations dedicated to representation. And on this journey, we seek to understand Anima, Animus and Androgyny; and we reflect on this Narcissus that exists in each of us, each one evoking in their own way the complexity and profundity of the human psyche through a series of enigmatic tales whose collective voice is as singular as it is manifold.

 


Art
 



“ [...]Trajectories presented at beginning of Journées de la Culture 2020 at Maison de la Culture Marie-Uguay took our breath away [...]
Journées de la Culture 2020. Montréal.

Trajectories explores the many shades of human being, in a series of encounters and dialogues of what exists in each of us. Different geographic and emotional paths to follow, in order to come into contact with each other. Eight women and men embody several archetypes, powerful and vulnerable at the same time – in a performative installation of six scenes; Narcissus, Skennen'kó: Wa, Magna Mater, Anima, Animus, Androgynous. Through the audience wandering, they come to life, then die, each with strength and modesty. Further than the scenes they symbolize, their simple presence and diversity is a testimony of their richness: age, sexe, ethnicity, origins, genres, orientations, personalities, etc.  Enigmatic narratives, singular paths, Trajectories thus blurs certain codes between audience and performers to create a being-ensemble capable of opening the range of new sensitive and transcultural approaches. Trajectories evokes the complexity and the profusion of the human psyche – and invites to rethink.

photos : Vanessa Fortin & David Wong

 
 
#diversity #equality #performance #lgbt #lgbtq #lgbtq2s #lgbttiqq2saa #diversité #montreal #conseildesartsetdeslettresduquebec #conseildesartdemontreal #lgbtq #arrondissementsudouest #lesudouestmontreal #design #costumedesign #narcissus #magnamater #skennenkowa #anima #animus #androgynous


 





FORÊT
____________________________________________
[création 2017-2019]



Art
 
 
FORÊT
unveils the stigmas of bodies rooted to wild nature, undertaking with ardour to explore the immediacy of the being, and sending back to where it all begun, to the origin. Between abandon and exaltation, then begins the intimate movement, this primal beat, almost animal, that precedes thought. The immanence of the being in its greatest fragility and its most authentic natural, at this very precise moment becomes reality through its existence, its explanation, its value. 


 
 
 
“ [...] strong in images 
[...] like a contemplative look at a human vivarium … 
Catherine Lalonde. LE DEVOIR.

[...] a tremendous experience [...]
Maïté. WEB & MASCARA.

“ [...] naked bodies, political bodies [...] 
Alain-Martin Chartrand. JEU, Revue de Théâtre.

“ [...] six performers who have really different bodies, that's really cool [...] 
Stéphanie Dufresne.  ON DIRA CE QU'ON VOUDRA, ICI Première, Radio-Canada.

“ [...] gentle social allegory  about our different human origins [...]
Robert St-Amour. SUR LES PAS DU SPECTATEUR.

" [...] A beautiful fable about innocence  and self-discovery, and especially about the genesis of humanity.
Denis-Martin Chabot. CULTURE AREA.

“ [...] this piece intrigues by how  it approaches its subject [...]
Lucie Lesclauze. DFDANSE.

facebook . vimeo Français . English
ÉLIAN MATA
[ imaginer, créer, propager ]

ACCUEIL
. PIÈCES . CALENDRIER . PRESSE . CONTACT & PRO

TRAJECTOIRES
____________________________________________
[création 2020-2021]





 
L’auteur, dramaturge, chorégraphe et idéateur Élian Mata commettait en 2018 l’inoubliable Forêt avec un premier collectif; le voilà qui récidive au MAI cette année avec Trajectoires, une installation performative impliquant huit collaborateur-trice-s. Déambulant au cœur de ce riche tableau mouvant qui visite les nuances complexes de l’être humain, le public part à la rencontre d'œuvres vivantes incarnées par les performeuses et les performeurs : six créations dédiées à la représentation. Au fil de ce parcours où tout palpite, on cherche à comprendre Anima, Animus et Androgyne, et l'on se questionne sur ce Narcisse qui vit en chacun de nous ; chacune et chacun évoquant à sa manière la complexité et le foisonnement de la psyché humaine au moyen d’énigmatiques récits dont les voix sont aussi singulières que plurielles.

 



Art
 

« 
[...]Trajectoires présentée au début des Journées de la Culture 2020 à la Maison de la Culture Marie-Uguay nous a coupé le souffle [...]  Journées de la Culture 2020. Montréal.

   Trajectoires explore les nuances de l'être humain, en une série de rencontres et de dialogues à propos de ce qui existe aussi en chacun de nous. Différents parcours géographiques et émotionnels à emprunter y sont proposés afin d’entrer en contact avec l’autre. Huit femmes et hommes y incarnent plusieurs archétypes, puissants et vulnérables à la fois – en une installation performative de six tableaux ; Narcisse, Skennen'kó:Wa, Magna Mater, Anima, Animus, Androgyne. À travers le public déambulant, ils prennent vie, puis s’éteignent, chacun avec force et pudeur. Au-delà des tableaux qu'ils symbolisent, leurs seules présences et diversités témoignent de toutes leurs richesses; âges, sexes, ethnicités, origines, genres, orientations, personnalités, etc.  Récits énigmatiques, voies singulières, Trajectoires brouille ainsi certains codes entre spectateurs et performeurs pour créer un être-ensemble capable d'ouvrir l'éventail de nouvelles approches sensibles et transculturelles. Trajectoires évoque ici la complexité et le foisonnement de la psyché humaine – et invite à la réflexion.

photos : Vanessa Fortin & David Wong

 
 
#diversity #equality #performance #lgbt #lgbtq #lgbtq2s #lgbttiqq2saa #diversité #montreal #conseildesartsetdeslettresduquebec #conseildesartdemontreal #lgbtq  #arrondissementsudouest #lesudouestmontreal #design #costumedesign #narcisse #magnamater #skennenkowa #anima #animus #androgyne


 






FORÊT

____________________________________________
[création 2017-2019]



Art
 
 
FORÊT
révèle les stigmates des corps enracinés à la nature sauvage s’engageant avec fougue dans l’exploration de l’immédiateté de l’être, et renvoyant au lieu où tout a commencé, à la source. Entre abandon et exaltation, se met alors en place le mouvement intime, ce battement primaire, presque animal, qui précède la pensée. L'immanence de l’être dans sa plus grande fragilité et son naturel le plus authentique, devient à ce moment précis réalité de par son existence, son explication, sa valeur. 


 
 
 
«
[...] forte en images [...]
Catherine Lalonde. LE DEVOIR.

« [...] une expérience formidable [...]

Maïté. WEB & MASCARA.

« [...] corps nus, corps politiques [...]

Alain-Martin Richard. JEU, Revue de Théâtre.

« [...] six interprètes qui ont des corps vraiment différents, ça c'est vraiment cool [...]
Stéphanie Dufresnes. ICI Première, Radio-Canada.

« [...] douce allégorie sociale sur nos origines humaines toutes différentes [...]
Robert St-Amour. SUR LES PAS DU SPECTATEUR.

«
[...] Une belle fable sur l’innocence et la découverte de soi, et surtout sur la genèse.
Denis-Martin Chabot. ZONE CULTURE.

« [...] cette pièce intrigue au niveau de la manière d’aborder son sujet [...]
Lucie Lesclauze. DFDANSE.